Fall Lecture Series 2018


The Five Books of Moses: A journey through the Pentateuch


In this lecture series, Michael Morales will draw out the major themes of the Pentateuch, giving us a foundation for understanding the whole Bible story and its culmination in Jesus Christ. Beginning with Genesis, we will trace the story of redemption and see how God created Israel for the sake of publishing the glory of His Name among the nations – so that the nations would be blessed. We will learn more deeply how the life and ministry of Moses foreshadows that of Jesus, how the Passover lamb of Exodus points us to the crucifixion of God’s Son, how Israel’s camp in the wilderness serves as a model for God’s people in every era – and more. Join us as we take a journey through the Pentateuch.


Session 1: Genesis 1-11 (The Tower of Babel)


Session 2: Genesis 12-22 (The Abraham Cycle)


Session 3: Genesis 25-35 (The Jacob/ Israel Cycle)


Session 4: Genesis 37-50 (The Joseph & Judah Story)


Session 5: Exodus 1-15 (The Exodus Proper)


Session 6: Exodus 12-15 (The Passover Feast)


Session 7: Exodus Overview (Moses as Mediator)


Session 8: Leviticus 1-10


Session 9: Leviticus 1-10, Part II


Session 10: Leviticus 10-26


Session 11: Numbers


Session 12: Numbers 5-6 (The Purity Laws)

About the Speaker

Dr. L. Michael Morales is Professor of Biblical Studies at Greenville Presbyterian Theological Seminary and a teaching elder in the PCA. He and his wife, Elise, have four boys. He received his Ph.D. from Trinity College in Bristol, U.K., under the supervision of Gordon Wenham, and has written The Tabernacle Pre-Figured, and Who Shall Ascend the Mountain of the Lord? A Biblical Theology of Leviticus, among other publications. Michael is currently working on a biblical theology book called Exodus and Redemption and on a commentary on the book of Numbers.

Connect with Providence:

Error Message